It’s all about simplicity…

20140707-231236-83556321.jpg

If the theme this week is simplicity I have to try and model this in the message too. I believe that if you want to get any message across simplicity, engagement and hanging it all around your core values and culture is key.

In the Gospel account we once again hear how we are called to be childlike (rather than childish!) in our faith. The natural positivity, sense of joy and hope of young people can be an inspiration to all of us in education and fulfils me each and every day.

The second part of the reading perhaps is especially useful at this time in the school year. As we rush headlong towards the end of term with still plenty on our “to do list” we are reassured that we need to trust in God to help carry our burden but we too can find rest!

So simply three thoughts…

1. How can we make our faith simple and childlike – just trusting in God unconditionally?
2. What can you to do to help “shoulder the burden” of those around you? If we aim to make people’s lives simpler and easier we are doing something right.
3. Find time for rest – real rest might be reading a book, listening to music, playing sport or just stopping for a moment to appreciate all that is great around us – friends, family, children, colleagues. When you stop for a moment you can also count your blessings too…. So thank you.

________

Gospel
Matthew 11:25-30

Jesus exclaimed, ‘I bless you, Father, Lord of heaven and of earth, for hiding these things from the learned and the clever and revealing them to mere children. Yes, Father, for that is what it pleased you to do. Everything has been entrusted to me by my Father; and no one knows the Son except the Father, just as no one knows the Father except the Son and those to whom the Son chooses to reveal him.
‘Come to me, all you who labour and are overburdened, and I will give you rest. Shoulder my yoke and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. Yes, my yoke is easy and my burden light.’

________

Leave a Reply

